I’ve totally been on a Bon Appetit recipe kick, in case you haven’t been able to tell from several of my last posts…But I couldn’t resist posting another delectable recipe that has already become an instant summer classic for me. I’ve made this for a couple of barbecue dinner parties now and I’m a huge fan because a) it’s light and healthy, b) it’s an original break from the usual “olives with cheese and crackers” apps, c) it doesn’t take all that much time and effort, d) it takes advantage of in-season, local produce and c) it makes a beautiful presentation on the plate!

I find these pretty filling — 2 halves should be enough for 4 hungry people, especially if you’re serving dinner shortly there after.

Grilled Nectarines with Feta
Bon Appétit

by Dave Kovner and Becky Kelso

Yield: Makes 8 servings

Ingredients
4 nectarines, halved, pitted
Melted butter (for brushing)
1 cup coarsely crumbled feta cheese (preferably sheep’s-milk feta)

Preparation

Prepare barbecue (medium-high heat). Brush nectarines with butter. Grill nectarines, cut side down, until grill marks appear, 4 to 5 minutes. Turn nectarines over. Sprinkle with cheese, then pepper. Grill until grill marks appear on bottoms, 4 to 5 minutes.

