In case you haven’t noticed from all the recipes I’ve been posting, I’ve been cooking. A lot. Summer is my favorite time to cook — there are so many fresh fruits and vegetables available, it’s easy to concoct something delicious without much work. My latest craving: pie. My latest find: local strawberries and blueperries, several quarts of each! So I set out to create a simple pie recipe that’s not too sweet. Though it did require turning on the oven, it was worth the extra heat in my apartment!

FRESH BERRY TART

3.5 c strawberries, quartered
2.5 c blueberries
1/3 c raw sugar
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 c cornstarch
1 pre-made pie crust of your choosing (I used the Whole Foods gluten-free pie crust made from brown rice flour)

Preheat oven to 400. In a large bowl, mix all of the ingredients together until the fruit is coated. Spoon into pie crust and bake for 45-60 minutes, until juice is bubbling. Let cool and the juices will set. Enjoy hot, room temperature, or cold!

