Summer’s here, which means some of my favorite produce is finally in season!  I’ve spent the past few weeks enjoying the first harvests of tomatoes, squash, and berries–all my favs!

I recently ran across this recipe for Fennel and Leek Gratin in the New York Times.  The first time I made it, I followed the recipe to a T.  The second time, I modified it to include white wine, golden zucchini, and lemon zest. I also substituted coconut oil for the olive oil. This is perfect served with a few slices of tomato and some lightly steamed asparagus.

SUMMER GRATIN

2 tbsp coconut oil (could also use olive oil)
2 fennel bulbs, trimmed and chopped
1 bunch leeks, white and light green parts, thinly sliced
1 golden zucchini, thinly sliced
1/4 tsp granulated garlic or 1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 c fresh dill
5 large eggs, beaten
zest of one lemon
1/3 c dry white wine
3/4 c crumbled feta cheese (I used French feta)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and oil a baking dish with coconut/olive oil.  In a large skillet, head 2 tbsp coconut oil and add leeks.  Cook for 5 minutes, until softened and beginning to brown. Add white wine and stir until cooked down. Add golden zucchini and fennel and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until everything is very soft. Add garlic, dill, and salt/pepper to taste and stir.

In a large bowl, beat 5 eggs until well blended.  Add leek mixture, lemon zest and feta and mix well. Spoon into pan and cook for 30-45 minutes, until set in the middle and edges are beginning to brown.

Can be served hot, warm, or at room temperature. It’s especially good the next day — this is perfect to take to work for lunch!

