I’m all about stocking the pantry & fridge so that I can make quick & easy meals on the fly, and so that I can make the fewest weekly trip to my food co-op ( a 12 minute walk from my house – not the easiest trip when you’ve forgotten an ingredient).

These 3 dishes have been my go-to meals lately. Each one feels light and just right for spring, packs a good nutritional punch, can be whipped up in under 10 minutes, and – most importantly – is delicious. I can also keep most of the ingredients stocked in my freezer, fridge, or pantry, which making throwing together a good meal a cinch.

Sunshine Burgers with Mashed Avocado, Sprouts, and Shredded Carrot

Essential Freezer Ingredients:

Sunshine Burgers

Ezekiel Whole Wheat Pita Pockets (or other bread or wrap of your choice)

Heat Sunshine burger (IMHO, the best veggie burger out there) in a pan over low heat, about 4 minutes each side. In the meantime, toast the pita pocket. Slice open toasted pita pocket and place 1/2 of a mashed avocado, sprinkled with sea salt, inside. Grate 1 whole carrot and place shredded carrot on top, followed by a handful of sprouts or whatever else I have on hand: sliced onion, tomato, or orange bell peppers would all be delish. Voila! Lunch or dinner in about 10 minutes.

Green Eggs & Salsa

Essential Fridge Ingredients:

Organic eggs (these should keep for several weeks in the fridge)

Bottled organic salsa (also has a long fridge life)

Essential Pantry Ingredients:

Onions

Garlic

(Both of those will keep for weeks if kept cool and dry.)

Essential Freezer Ingredient:

Corn Tortillas (I like Ezekiel sprouted corn tortillas)

Saute chopped onions and garlic in a little olive oil over medium-high heat, then add 2 beaten eggs and cook, over low heat, stirring constantly. When eggs start to firm up, add a lot of chopped greens of your choice. (These days I’m really digging watercress and dandelion greens – two essential spring greens that really help us detox.) Cook until desired doneness. Serve on warmed corn tortillas, topped with sliced avocado and salsa.

Sauteed Beans with Fresh Herbs, Garlic, and Smoked Trout

Essential Pantry Ingredients:

Can of your favorite beans (I’m into white northern beans these days)

Cole’s Smoked Trout, or other canned fish of your choice (wild salmon, mackerel, or wild sardines)

Garlic

I grow fresh herbs on my windowsill so that I can add easy, fresh, nutritious spice to my meals.  Plus, you can add fresh herbs to a mostly canned meal like this one and it really kicks it up a notch and makes it taste like a high-class meal!

Saute a clove or two of minced garlic in olive oil over medium heat. Mix in 1 can of rinsed beans and heat through. Throw in the can of smoked trout, drained of oil, and flaked into chunks. Squeeze in some fresh lemon juice, sprinkle some sea salt and fresh ground pepper to taste, and add fresh chopped herbs of your choice (I like sage and basil, at the moment). Serve on top of a bed of lettuce or leftover grains, or simply eat on its own.

