A few weeks ago, Andrea shared her recipe for whole wheat banana bread. As I drooled over it (which, unfortunately I can’t eat because it contains gluten), I remembered that last year I did a few experiments of my own to find a delicious gluten-free banana bread. I hadn’t baked in a while and this weekend seemed like perfect time to dust off my recipe!

The flour in this recipe is Bob Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Baking Mix — a must-have for any bakers trying to avoid gluten.  Though most gluten-free baked goods contains xanthan gum, which acts like wheat gluten, I prefer mine without, as the final product is more dense (my favorite!).

BANANA BREAD
(Adapted from Babycakes: The Cookbook by Erin McKenna)

Dry ingredients:
1 c Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Baking Mix
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp nutmeg
pinch of salt

Wet ingredients:
3 bananas, mashed
1/4 c coconut oil
1/3 c agave nectar
1/3 c unsweetened soy milk

Optional: 2/3 c vegan semi-sweet chocolate chips and/or 1/2 c chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350. Lightly oil an 8 1/2×4 1/2 inch loaf pan. In a large bowl, mix together dry ingredients. In another bowl, whisk together wet ingredients. Add the banana mixture to the dry ingredients, blending until smooth. Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 40 minutes. (A toothpick should come out clean). Cool in the pan on a rack for 15 minutes, then turn it out and cool. In theory it should be cooled completely before cutting, but I can never wait that long!

