I wanted to whip up a batch of cookies for one of my holistic health groups — something that would be healthy, but that would satisfy the sweet-tooths among us! (No point in making cookies if they don’t taste good!)

I sorted through my recipes and was reminded of an easy and tasty recipe for thumbprint cookies, by my good friend Tara Bogota (who runs her own vegetarian catering service!). I didn’t have all of the ingredients originally called for on hand, so I improvised with what I had in my pantry. Coconut oil replaced safflower oil, almonds replaced walnuts, and bilberry jam replaced strawberry jam. The results were a scrumptious batch of adorable cookies that took all of about 40 minutes to make, bake, and clean up. Perfecto!

Bilberry Maple Thumbprint Cookies (adapted from a recipe by Tara Bogota)

1 cup rolled oats, coarsley crushed in a blender
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup almonds, blended until around the consistency of flour (some small almond chunks remained)
pinch sea salt
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup coconut oil (warmed to liquid consistency)
Filling: Fruit-sweetened jam of your choice (I used bilberry to delicious results!)

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl combine rolled oats, flour, crushed nuts and salt together.

Separately, mix maple syrup with oil.

Blend wet into dry ingredients, and mix until combined.

With wet hands, form into little balls. Place cookies onto a lightly oiled cookie sheet (I put mine on parchment, oiled with a little melted coconut oil). Using thumb, press a little hole into the middle of each cookie and fill it with a small amount of jam.

Bake 15 minutes or until lightly golden on bottoms.

*Original recipe said this makes 20 cookies, but I made mine smaller and it yielded about 35 cookies.*

