We are 4 days into the first-ever Spark! Wellness / Choosing Raw cleanse, and what do I, a level-3 participant, have to say?  That this is the best thing ever – I should cleanse more often! 

Admittedly, I am only on day 3 myself – I had to skew my start-date just a bit due to international travel and my inability to adequately pre-tox.  But, I am going strong, feeling great, and ready to plough through the remaining days of what is, for me, a much-needed, focused effort on taking charge on my nutritional well-being and health. 

I am sure most of are enjoying your repsective cleanse experiences as much as I am – each for your own reasons.  Judging by the comments on the level-3 forum, while some of us are experiencing a few road blocks and frustrations that are common to detox, on the whole, this cleanse is enabling us to do the very best for ourselves and our bodies, and is worth the frustration of having to resist our favorite indulgences for some time, and teach our bodies to embrace what is needed for our true nourishment. 

Why am I loving this cleanse?

  • First and foremost, it is an exercise in building discipline.  Knowing that introducing ‘cheat foods’ or foods that are totally not allowed at all can interrupt the cleanse process makes me all the more willing and determined to stick to Gena’s carefully planned out regime.  I certainly want to make the most of these 10 days, and know that my body needs it, so there is more at stake and less of a reason for me to cheat.  Hopefully, and ideally, this exercise is helping me to build the same discipline for when I am not cleansing, so that I can resist and/or moderately eat certain foods more regularly and without succombing to cravings. 
  • I am enjoying my meals.  Knowing that every last bit of food I am consuming is packed with nutrients that I need (instead of fillers and additives, as with processed foods), I find that I am enjoying my meals and appreciating the wonderful fruits of the earth that were designed to so efficiently and thoroughly nourish our bodies.  It’s so refreshing to have in front of you only whole, natural foods, not pre-prepared, processed complete meals. 
  • Gena mentions in our cleanse packet that food preparation in a high-raw diet is an opportunity for ‘culinary artistry,’ and I am finding just that!  While Gena has provided a delectable bank of recipes based on her tastes and preferences (no garlic and onions!), I have been able to make my own versions that suit my tastes (lots of garlic and onions!, among other things).  I have already created several soups and juices that I will continue to make in the future for myself and others. 
  • I found my new quick-and-easy packaged snack:  Larabars.  I have known about them for quite some time, but I always would shy away from them because they were packaged, and would opt for fresh fruit as a snack instead.  While I realize that they are technically ‘processed,’ they are only minimally so — they truly represent a convenient, nutrient-packed snack that contains only natural ingredients (read:  nuts, fruits, and a few spices).  Try them if you haven’t done so already!  My favorite flavor:  peanut butter and jelly, which is the new kid on the Larabar block! 

Happy cleansing, cleansers!  I hope that you are finding this experience as rewarding as I am finding it to be.

