soup

It’s that time of year again… soup season!  I make soups all winter long because they’re a.) easy, b.) cheap, and c.) make great leftovers.  As a rule, I make a big pot of soup at least twice a month and once I get sick of eating it, I freeze the rest in single serving containers. Then the next time I don’t have time to make lunch (or am too sick to cook but need the nourishment), I throw a frozen soup into my bag to re-heat at work. Easy, peasy, delicious, nutritious.

This week I decided to make a collard green and root vegetable soup. Root vegetables are incredibly nourishing and very grounding, which the majority of us need as winter sets in. Collards greens have a ton of vitamins and fiber.

Below is a rough recipe… With soups, I never measure anything, just throw things in and hope for the best. It’s pretty hard to mess up a soup!

GROUNDING WINTER SOUP

Vegetable or Chicken broth
2 bunches collard greens, roughly chopped
2 parsnips, chopped
1/2 rutabaga, peeled and chopped into bite sized cubes
1/2 celeriac, peeled and chopped into bite sized cubes
4 turnips, chopped into bite sized pieces
3 cloves garlic
3 dried bay leaves

Fill a large pot with stock and, if need be, water. Bring to a boil. Add all other ingredients and simmer for one hour.

Variations:  For a smoky flavor, try smoked spanish paprika.  For extra minerals, throw in a piece of kombu (seaweed); remove when finished–all of the beneficial nutrients will remain in the broth.  For decadence, add a piece of nitrate-free bacon or smoked ham hock to the water.  For extra protein, throw in some chicken cubes.  For a complete meal, add a whole grain such as brown rice, farro, or quinoa.

